August 23, 2005 @ 20:54
My humans are acting odd

Pandora here.

My humans are up to something. I can tell. I'm just not sure what it is. They take big rectangular containers into the bedrooms and make distressed noises there. Sweet Mama keeps saying, "I have too much stuff!" Sometimes she cries. I don't know why anyone would cry about having a lot of stuff. Big Scary Mama is trying to be extra nice to her.

They are both trying to be extra nice to me. Sweet Mama cleans my palace two or three times a week, changes my potty corner daily, and rearranges my furniture every day or two. They set up a special run for me on the floor when the whole cage is being cleaned. Besides my beloved Spring Mix and baby carrots, they brought me blueberries, asparagus, alfalfa sprouts and Belgian endive. I don't like the sprouts and asparagus, and I don't like blueberries very much. But endive is yummy, and I appreciate the thought.

I said they are *trying* to be extra nice to me. They're a little slow most of the time. For example, they like to take me out of my palace once or twice a day to pet me. I give them a run for their money, of course, but eventually I let them catch me. Then, about the time I get settled in and start making Happy Piggy sounds, they jump up and put me back into the palace. They didn't catch on until just the past few days. Sweet Mama used her silver box to make Happy Piggy noises to me while she was petting me. (Big Scary is using the silver box now to write this for me.) I was afraid to say anything until the third day she did that. Then I tried making Happy noises too, and at long last, both Mamas seemed to understand. It seems that until now, they couldn't tell the difference between Happy and I Gotta Go. I was so relieved, I made Happy noises for a long time--I had been thinking they must hate me, putting me back in my palace every time I said I was happy! This morning, I even let Big Scary give me a baby carrot without having any wire grid between us.

I do wonder why they are being extra nice to me. Is this to apologize for being so clueless for so long? Or does it have something to do with "too much stuff" and distressed noises?

Can anybody out there translate what's happening into Guinea Pig and tell me?

<< || >>


Something to say? Tell me!